International A Level Information Technology

International A Level Information Technology

Entry Requirements

Students will have achieved a minimum of a B grade in their ICT IGCSE. 

Course Content

The course offers  

  • The International Advanced Subsidiary level and consists of Units 1 AND 2   
  • The full International Advanced Level award consists of two IAS units (Units 1 and 2)

 plus two IA2 units (Units 3 and 4). 

 Aims and objectives

Students who study Information Technology will:

 ∙ Acquire knowledge and understanding of essential information technology concepts – contemporary digital hardware and software technologies, networks, the online environment, IT systems, data and databases – as well as the wider issues associated with the widespread use of IT 

∙ Learn how to use diagrammatic tools to represent network designs, data flows, processes and entity-relationships. 

∙ Be able to design networks and IT systems using appropriate technology to meet needs. 

∙ Learn how data is structured in databases and how to use SQL to manipulate structured data.

 ∙ Develop practical skills in the use of the three core web languages – HTML, CSS and JavaScript – as well as a solid understanding of web design principles, enabling them to produce user-friendly, interactive web products. 

∙ Broaden their knowledge and understanding of information technology concepts – data manipulation, enabling technologies, IT systems in organisations, systems development, emerging technologies. 

∙ Learn how to interpret and construct data dictionaries, design data validation rules and normalise data into first, second and third normal form. 9 9 

∙ Find out how to interpret and use project management tools – Gantt charts, critical path analysis, precedence tables.

 ∙ Develop technical skills in the use of relational database software that enables them to amend, construct and interrogate databases, import and export data and create appropriate user interfaces.


Units 01 and 03 are traditional written examination papers (2 hours) covering knowledge and understanding of IT concepts and systems. Units 02 and 04 are practical examinations (3 hours) which require use of a computer and assess technical knowledge and skills in practical contexts, along with related theoretical understanding.